Et Volià!

via taryn-davidson4

After arriving here on Thursday, January 19th, (I need to remind myself of the date somehow), and enduring that crazy day, things finally started to seem a little more normal. My adjustment period here has been quite shorter than the one that I experienced last semester à Londres as it was first time en Europe. I cannot even imagine what it is like for the  kids that are studying here with me and it is the first time being here not only in France, but in Europe. A round of applause is truly in order, you all are truly troopers of an extraordinary kind. The street signs are confusing here in Europe themselves so I cannot imagine what it would be like to see them on the sign on the side of the building for the first time and en français!

Alors…(S0…) as I sit here staring at my Evian bottle (they are much cheaper here…so I am not “Naive”) in my new home in the 1e arrondisement à Paris, I was trying to encapsulate the first five days of this trip in my head for one moment. Impossible! At least I’m doing a much better job than last time around with the journaling/blogging! See I learned something from that experience, well I learned a lot, and I have noticed that I have picked up the habit quite readily of referring to the Métro in Paris as the “Tube” like the one in London. It will come more naturally later I guess?

French is a really unique language, with a completely different way of approaching life that English rarely comes close to. Hence, there is word for that feeling that you get after having a lovely conversation with someone and you only think of the things that you wanted to say after the conversation is over. I needed a little help to remember it...”L’esprit de escalier” (French) The feeling you get after leaving a conversation, when you think of all the things you should have said. Translated it means “the spirit of the staircase.”  (source: Lonely Planet). In fact, every language has a word or phrase that simply cannot be translated entirely or  even beautifully and rightfully so in another language. C’est très belle pour moi!

So, the title of this post is a perfect example for that, as my host sister said “Do you have the word  “Volià” in the English language?” And frankly, “There you go” just doesn’t work for me, and with no direct translation “Volià!” does evoke more emotion. Only one of many things that I like about the French. And after my many years of French and not being to speak fluently, I am definitely having my children take languages early-four languages is good enough right? A little bit of French, Italiano, Spanish, English, okay… maybe lets throw in a little bit of Danish or Dutch or German or something…maybe even Portugeuse? Gosh they sound like the perfect candidates to be a Pan Am stewardess just like that show back in America “Pan Am.” It’s not the best show in the world, but its entertaining and fun and I actually kept up with it from the beginning- a big time shocker for me. And then I have to go study abroad again and make it hard for myself again bahahaha.

Well, I am off to eat a late dinner with my new host family, lots of good nourriture in my future! Actually describing vendredi entre lundi (Friday to Monday) will come soon! Bonsoir pour maintenant!

Lauren Conrad Blog

Lauren-Conrad Blog

Paris à nuit

Leave a Reply

